“Flowers of Peace”

3

February 20, 2013 by wildducks

Caution. These are violent images. My goal is not to appall you, but to illustrate the brutality of war before transforming these horrific images into something peaceful and beautiful – a flower bouquet. Note the title of my piece is “Flowers of Peace,” not “Images of War.”

War is currently underway in the world and I want it to stop. I want to see life and beauty and love and understanding and serenity and forgiveness. I want to live in a world where love in encouraged. But my wishes are at odds with the brutal reality. War is real, suffering and pain are part of our world. This continues with or without my consent. This deeply depresses me.

With this project I tried to turn war into peace with my hands and my imagination. I do what I can – using my art to bring peace to what I feel powerless to change. I hope you understand my project and I appreciate your feedback.

So, without further ado, here are the images which I will transform into a bouquet, printed on  colorful A4 paper.

greenpinkwar01 greenpinkwar green war01 yellowdeathwar yellow war01 yellow war purpleyellowar01
purpleyellowar

 

P1080423P1080429 P1080428 P1080430 P1080427 P1080435

Peace,

Everett

3 thoughts on ““Flowers of Peace”

  1. stephglaser says:

    What a transformation — the peace flowers are beautiful..Thank you for sharing and thank you for stopping by Travel Oops and liking the post about Forbidden Photos in East Germany! Cheers.

    • diewildente says:

      I live in the eastern part of Germany, near Berlin and so I have to been trying to identify where you could have been from the photo, but so far no luck. Things have changed here so much since then. Have you had a chance to visit again?

      • stephglaser says:

        I have not been back, but I would love to visit. I had a wonderful time in East Berlin. People were very welcoming and I wasn’t sure what to expect — especially since this was still during the Cold War. I’m sure it would be a huge eye-opener to visit today!

        To be honest, I’m not exactly sure where we were in East Germany when I took those photos. It was not long after we crossed the West German border.

        I really find your art fascinating, by the way! Cheers.

Leave a Reply

