Lit-o´-Crisps interview

Leave a comment

January 15, 2013 by wildducks

I have been interviewed by a magazine called ART DUX about a new work I have just completed, called Lit-o’-crisps. Read the interview below.

Art Dux: So, your new piece is entitled Lit-o’-Crisps and seems to be some sort of a product. Can you tell us a little bit about this piece in your own words.

Everett: Yes, thanks. Lit Crisps are edible wafers which have poems and journal excerpts printed on them in non-toxic ink (food-coloring). The wafers are packaged in a colorful wooden box. The box looks disposable, but is less destructible than…not permanent, but not actually a disposable object, like other snack food containers are made to be.

Art Dux: And what are you saying with a box like that as opposed to an easily disposable one?

Everett: It is meant as a mirror on consumerism. Snack food is really fast food. It is eaten and the container is usually compacted and thrown in the trash with little thought. I am playing with the idea of permanence or at least temporary permanence. How does it change our snack food experience, and in a deeper way, our connection to objects, to consider an otherwise disposable receptacle as being permanent?

P1080023

P1080031 P1080035 P1080036 A.D: Right, enough about the container I think (laughs). Now what are these wafers, they look an awful lot like communion wafers.

E: And they are. I spent my first few years in catholic school and I coveted these wafers, not quite understanding the meaning, but just enjoying the texture and the subtle flavor. And when I later understood the meaning, I found them even more exotic. I like the allusion of art as a sacrifice or an offering. So, I have printed a form of communicative art on these wafers.

A.D: Your own poetry and journal entries?

E: Not just my own, but also poetry by Theodore Roethke, Hermann Hesse, Tess Gallagher, Dianne Wakoski, Plath, and Rilke. I think exposure, of not only my own work, but of others, is an offering and should be included.

A.D: You chose to print the labels of the packaging…

E: I thought we weren`t going to talk about the packaging anymore (laughs)

A.D: Ok, you got me, but why in German?

E: Well, why not? I speak German and for the last 3 years I have interacted with labels and packaging in German. It is only natural that my packaging should also be influenced by what I have been interacting with.

A.D: You use “interacting” when speaking of packaging? Is it really that important to you?

E: Yes and no. As an artist and consumer, definitely, packaging is often more important than the product itself. For example, snack foods. Colorful packages, playful images, are far more interesting than the chip or the cookie. But with other things, it`s quite the opposite. With iPods or something like that, the package is usually just a picture of the product. There is no need for a fancy label, because the product has a name, it has a reputation which preceeds it.

A.D: Do you plan on marketing your product beyond your own kitchen?

E: No, it’s an art concept and beyond sharing it with a few friends, I will be moving on to the next project with no reservations or hold-ups regarding this piece.
P1080037 P1080038 P1080042
Turn your kitchen pantry into your own library with Lit.O.Crips! A poem in every bite!

P1080030

Leave a Reply

